“new”

I’ve been MIA for over two weeks, because well, just LIFE! And although that’s a true statement, true transparency would have me tell you it’s because the thoughts and ideas in my head have been quiet and almost non-existent lately. The blog ideas and random ramblings in my head that were coming to me frequently have all but stopped it seems. If you’ve talked to me about why I started the blog, you know it was out of great hesitation. I didn’t want it to be about me or a means to get wrapped up in finding my self worth by how many people “liked” my blog. I felt God had been placing so many things on my heart that He wanted me to share with others; to offer hope and encouragement, a way to serve others. It took me a long time to finally take the plunge mainly because I am stubborn and lazy.

Before I started the blog, I came across this truth from Momastery and knew that I wanted this to be the guiding principle whenever I sat down to write a blog…

“There are two types of people—those who walk into a room and say: ‘Here I am!’ and those who walk into a room and say: ‘There you are.’

The idea of there you are, is how I make decisions about what to post on my blog and on all of my social media accounts. Before I post, I ask myself: Is this self-serving or others-serving? Does this post say look at me, or look at us?”

She is spot on if you ask me!

And now here I am. Things are still quiet in my heart and head. I am waiting patiently for the “new” word from God, for the next thing He wants me to share. Not that every thing I share will always be life changing or mind blowing, because I can promise you it won’t be.  However, I’ll leave you with this, something I found as I was reading back through old journal entries from a year ago. The months of August and September always tend to be hard months for me. I really don’t know why but I can go back even 5 years and read you old journal entries from Augusts and Septembers that are filled with angst and restlessness; months where God seems quiet and distant. And I love this reminder from Emily Freeman for times when things seem quiet and you desire something new to be stirred within…

“God is creating something new within me, even though everything feels dreadfully the same.

…Maybe for now it’s enough to simply believe that the God who created the world with words alone creates still; within you. Even when you can’t see it or feel it or name it. And the faith it takes to believe that’s true could be the new thing that He’s creating within you today.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

