Random Ramblings from a 30 year old

Last week, I crossed over from my twenties into my thirties. It was quite the eventful week, let me just share a bit of it with you. We started our first week of homeschool, celebrated my 30th birthday, which was followed by a very long, sleepless night with a toddler who was screaming in pain from an ear infection, unbeknownst to us. Ran off very little sleep the next day, which felt like a hangover from celebrating my 30th birthday a little too hard, but we all know that’s not the case. Woke up the following morning with severe back pain, thought I was in labor at 32 weeks. And ended out the week with an intestinal bug. Hooray for turning 30! But seriously, sarcasm aside, I do have much to be grateful for. I’m thankful for air in my lungs, new mercies every morning, and a family who makes me feel super special.

I wanted to share some thoughts and ramblings that I have held onto and ruminated on over the past year. Thoughts of my own and quotes from others that have ushered me into my thirties and things that I will continue to chew on and strive to live by. I guess it’s true what they say, “with age comes wisdom.” Without further ado….

30 Random Ramblings from a 30 year old:

  1. Humility takes courage -Me
  2. “For a long time, I thought my children were a distraction from the work God was doing in my life and the world around me. I am starting to realize they are the work God is doing in my life. They are the invitation to give, to receive, to be humbled, to grow. They are the vehicles of grace.” –Amy Becker
  3. Where it concerns my husband: I need to possess less nagging and negativity; more affirming and affection. -Me
  4. “When our grandchildren ask us where we were when the voiceless and the vulnerable of our era needed leaders of compassion and purpose, I hope we can say that we showed up, and that we showed up ON TIME.” –Gary Hagen
  5. Good friends that are more like family, make any place feel like home. -Me
  6. “May we feel the sorrow of it all, and whisper glory.” –Ann Voskamp
  7. BLOOM. -Me
  8. “We build too many walls and not enough bridges.” –Isaac Newton
  9. Communication, communication, communication AND adventure are the keys to a successful and healthy marriage. -Me
  10. “There is a biblical benchmark I now use…If it isn’t true for a poor single Christian mom in Haiti, it isn’t true.” –Jen Hatmaker
  11. White Space defined is the unprinted area of a piece of printing, as of a poster or newspaper page, or of a portion of a piece of printing, as of an advertisement; blank space: “white space is as effective in a layout as type.” –dictionary.com Are you allowing/creating “white space” in your life? –Me
  1. “Dare to be grateful for every good thing. And dare to know it’s all good.” –Ann Voskamp
  2. As often as you can, take a deep breath and take a mental snapshot of your everyday, ordinary happenings. Breathe them in and seal the image in your heart and mind forever. –Me
  3. “All great changes are preceded by chaos.” –unknown
  4. Where it concerns my kids: when I am in the wrong and I know it, always ask for their forgiveness. Allow them to see my brokenness and know that I am human. –Me
  5. “There is a lot of good in all of this, which is exactly why bad things are happening. Don’t let the devil steal your joy in this.” –my dear friend Sarah G.
  6. “Normal? What’s Normal? Normal is just a setting on a washing machine.” –my Mama
  7. “The only way to live a remarkable life, is not to get everyone to notice you, but to leave noticeable marks of love everywhere you go.” –Ann Voskamp
  8. Smart phones are from the devil. No really, they are! –Me
  9. “You were made for the place where your deep passion meets compassion because there in lies your deep purpose.” –Ann Voskamp
  10. There is no such thing as reading too many books at one time. –Me
  11. “And we will always remember that the most world changing work we can do is this: we can live in a way so that our children will be able to say, not one moment of my life did I wonder if I was adored. Never, ever did I feel alone. And they will pass it on.” – Glennon from Momastery
  12. “My heart learned to let go of perfection and to embrace the chaos, no matter how messy it can get. Sometimes in the middle of the mess is where life and beauty are found.” –Joanna Gaines
  13. “Prayer turns ordinary parents into prophets who shape the destinies of their children, grandchildren and every generation that follows. Your prayers for your children are the greatest legacy you can leave.” –Mark Batterson
  14. Make your space beautiful in a way that revives your heart and refreshes your soul. –Me
  15. “If we insist on a war, let’s pick one that matters: human trafficking, hunger, the protection of women and girls globally, education, maternal health, the orphan crisis, unjust systems, homelessness. If we want to aim a big gun, let’s aim it together at injustice, not at one another, for the love.” –Jen Hatmaker
  16. Family dance parties can change the whole mood of the atmosphere in just one song. –Me
  17. “Activism that matters to the kingdom is always rooted in prayer. If we want to join God in changing the word, the place to begin is on our knees before the cross.” –Common Book of Prayer
  18. “The awareness of a spiritual tradition that reaches through the centuries gives one a certain feeling of security in the face of all transitory difficulties.” –D. Bonhoeffer
  19. “The women whom I love and admire for their strength and grace did not get that way because shit worked out. They got that way because shit went wrong, and they handled it. They handled it in a thousand different ways on a thousand different days, but they handled it. These women are my superheroes.” –Elizabeth Gilbert

There you have it folks! Maybe this whole turning 30 thing isn’t so bad after all

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

