Selma Charles

I keep a journal for each of my kids and one of the very first entries is their birth story at length from my perspective. I cherish these journals and I especially love going back and reading their birth stories. Each birth story so different and unique, just like each of my three kids. I never tire of reading other birth stories as well. They are all so beautiful, raw, and full of life. Today Selma Charles is 2 months young and I have decided to celebrate by sharing her birth story that I wrote in her journal…

November 16, 2015

My sweet Selma Charles, you’re HERE!

In fact, you are lying in bed beside me, sleeping away. You are so squishy and cuddly I can’t stand it. I love staring at you and cuddling with you. I didn’t realize how much I missed sweet baby snuggles and I’d forgotten how good they are for my soul. It’s taken me a while, but here is your birth story at length…

My last prenatal appointment with you was on Monday, October 26th. I was one day past your due date and I left feeling a little discouraged. I had been dilated and effaced the exact same amount for almost three weeks now. However, I was thankful that the ultrasound showed a healthy baby girl and the midwife cleared me to continue on in my pregnancy. Your Nana and Papa had come to stay with us, so that they could be here to help with your big brother and sister whenever I went into labor.

For a couple of weeks, I had been having contractions on and off and a few times, I even thought, “this is it,” only for the contractions to go away. On Thursday October 29th, it was a beautiful day. Nana, Papa, the kiddos and myself, we went to the park to play. Afterwards, we had to run by the grocery store for a few things and that’s when I felt the first contraction. I started timing them and an hour after we got home, I told Nana that I thought I was in labor for real this time. I called your Daddy home from work and we headed to the hospital around 4:30pm.

When we arrived at the hospital, I was prepared for them to tell me to go back home but to my surprise, I was 5 cm dilated and 90% effaced. They got my antibiotics started since I was GBS positive with you. At this point, contractions were still super manageable. When I didn’t have to be monitored, I was up walking around and your Daddy was watching a football game. Yes, I gave him permission.

Around 7pm, a new nurse came on shift and she was AMAZING! She was an answer to prayer. I had so much anxiety surrounding your birth due to the fact that I was in a new hospital and protocol was very different compared to the birthing center where I gave birth to your older siblings. She fully supported my decision for a natural birth and instantly put me at ease.

Around 10pm, the midwife showed up to check me and see if I was far enough along to break my water. Again, I was skeptical because I was still able to manage contractions quite easily. However, I was 8.5-9 cm, so she broke my water and that’s when it got REAL! I didn’t want to leave the safety of the bed. I had a few really hard contractions and the midwife told me to let her know when I as ready to push. When I felt the urge to push and got the courage to do so, I let them know and with one contraction and one long push that felt like an eternity, you entered this world. Perfect in every single way. I knew the minute they laid you on my chest that you were a good-sized baby, 8lbs. 13 oz. in fact.

I honestly could not have asked for a better labor and delivery with you. Although this was my longest labor yet, 9 hours from first contraction until you were born, it was the most relaxed, peaceful and easiest labor and delivery. Selma Charles, I’ve known in my heart since we first found out I was pregnant with you, that you are a gift. And you truly are my sweet baby. We are all smitten with you. My heart leaps for joy knowing that I get to be your Mama and watch you grow. You will hear these four words spoken over you always. They are your banner over you. To remind you who you are and whose you are…

You are Strong

You are Kind

You are Beautiful

You are Worth it

Love you always my sweet baby!

Love, Mama

 

Leave a Reply

