“Say-so”

Being a mom is one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. Actually, IT IS THE HARDEST thing I’ve ever done. I can’t tell you how many nights, after the kids have gone to bed that I will replay the days events and feel guilty for all the ways I feel like I have failed my kids. Whether I let them watch too much TV, or I didn’t let them help me cook when they asked, or I said a harsh word in the heat of the moment. And the list goes on and on. Seriously, some nights I have gone to bed with a pit in my stomach and feeling like a total failure as a mom.

And then it hit me this morning…while some “replaying” of the days events may be helpful in moving forward to a new day, more often times than not I believe it’s the enemy lurking, waiting for a chance to fill our hearts and minds with all the ways we don’t measure up as a mom. This light bulb moment seems so “duh,” but it’s so true and worth reminding ourselves of. The enemy is sneaky like that. Instead of looking back over our day and being able to see it through the lens of truth, the enemy sees it as an opportunity to heap guilt upon guilt on us. He wants us to believe the lie that we are failures as moms, and that it’s always going to be like that, we will never change.

Isaiah 40:11 reigns me back in, “…He gently leads those that have young.”

Being a mom is one of the most “brutiful” things, as Glennon Melton would say. It’s both brutal and beautiful. I believe God’s intention was never for us to feel constant guilt over all the ways we believe we are failing as moms. Are there ways we can better ourselves as mothers, certainly. Let me be the first to tell you that I need the fruits of the spirit in heaping amounts, especially as a mom. But this bettering ourselves comes from the daily abiding at Jesus’ feet and allowing Him to pour into us and speak truth into every area of our lives, so that in turn we can pour into others, especially our children.

Next time you find yourself in a blubbering heap, recounting all the ways you’ve failed as a mom, and I can promise you there will be a next time, just STOP. Really don’t do it. We as moms need to see these moments for what they are, an attack from the enemy. We need to call him out and give him a good tongue-lashing. Do not allow the enemy to fill your heart and mind with untrue thoughts. Instead when these moments happen, go to God first and ask Him to shed His truth, love, and grace on the day’s replayed events. Let Him help you shift through what is true and what is untrue.

Moms, let’s stop giving the enemy “say so” over our lives and our mothering and just tell him to leave us the HELL ALONE!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

