Listen

*Disclaimer: I am trying something new… I happened upon a blog that does a Five Minute Friday one word prompt every Friday encouraging people to set a timer for 5 minutes and write whatever comes to mind using the one word provided.  This intrigued me and so I am going to give it a go!

Prompt: LISTEN

*setting timer for 5 minutes and go!*

My oldest and I have started a new night time ritual.  I will crawl up into his bunk bed and we will discuss three things before I tuck him in bed and kiss him goodnight: 1) What was his favorite part of the day  2) What was his least favorite part of the day and 3) What is he learning.  These questions are similar to questions that my husband and I like to use when we are in a small group setting.  At first it’s a little awkward and takes some getting used to, but eventually people really love sharing where they are at with these 3 questions.

This new ritual got off to a rocky start, because whenever I would ask him what was his favorite part of the day he would say everything, which to be honest was a little frustrating for me.  However after a week or so, he started asking me to come in to his room and do those, you know “question things” mom.  I happily obliged and now it’s become our “thing” we do together every night; something we both look forward to. I honestly think its partly due to the fact that he has my undivided attention and that I can listen intently to him.  Not every night does he share some profound thing as his favorite part of the day and most nights what he is learning, is that he shouldn’t hit his sister or throw a fit when he doesn’t get his way, LOL! But this act of listening to him and I mean truly listening, when all is quiet and its dark outside has become a sweet act of love towards him and one of my favorite things that we share together.

I hope and pray that this night time ritual never grows old…

*shew…5 minutes flew by!

If you want to join in on the fun, here is a link below for this week’s Five Minute Friday:

five minute friday :: listen

 

9 thoughts on “Listen

  1. I’m glad you joined in FMF – it’s a fun place to be! And I love your nighttime ritual. I’m going to have to try that around here, although I’m sure my boy will give me some vague answers. 😉 Happy Friday to you!

    Like

  2. Visiting from FMF #41- glad you joined us! That’s a lovely night time ritual- a great way to give your son an opportunity to share and to know that he’s being listened to.

    Like

  3. My son doesn’t quite say many words yet but I have started a thing that when he first wakes up (in the morning or from a nap) I ask him questions and he will just blabber on but I love listening to it…one day it will make sense. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

