You…

You are where you are for such a time as this — not to make an impression, but to make a difference.” -Ann Voskamp

I’ve long loved the story of Esther and how God used an insignificant woman, with an unimpressive past, to change the course of history for her people.  My favorite passage from the whole book is found in chapter 4, “…perhaps you were born for such a time as this.”

I take my cues from Ann Voskamp when it comes to living broken and open, to letting impressions fly out the window and my soul focus to be on making a difference.  She is living it out and she is risking her life for those outside the gate.  Her words both convict and challenge me.  WE are the Esther generation, YOU and I.  We are inside the palace gates and were “born for such a time as this.”  But what are we doing for those outside the gates?

The following is an excerpt from her new book The Broken Way:

“You can look into eyes and hear the whisper from those outside your door, outside the gate: You’ve got to risk your position inside for those on the outside or you risk losing everything, even your own soul. You’ve got to give your gifts or they may become your idols, your identity, and you become the walking dead. If your living isn’t about giving, then you’re already dying. You’ve got to use the life you’ve been given to give others life. If your life isn’t about giving relief—you don’t get real life. Give relief or you find none. For what does it profit a woman to gain the whole world, but lose her own soul? (Mark 8:36, my paraphrase).”

I am preaching right to myself on this one.  I am telling myself that I am where I am for such a time as this, and asking what am I doing to make a difference?  How am I living giving, so that others can have life?

#TheBrokenWay  #Write31days #5MFW

Write 31 Days Challenge

2 thoughts on “You…

Leave a Reply

