Sky

“There is one spectacle grander than the sea, that is the sky: there is one spectacle grander than the sky, that is the interior of the soul.” -Hugo from Les Miserables

What are you doing to care for your soul?  Are you setting aside to fill your own tank before you pour yourself out to others?  Now listen, I’m aware of all the excuses out there, because I can pitch them out myself.  I’m a mama to three little ones under 5 so I know how precious time is and how little time there seems to be each day to spend on myself.  But here is what I also know, that if I am not setting aside time to do the things that fill up my soul, then not only do I find myself empty, but I find there is little left of me for my kids, husband, and others as well.

As seasons change, so does the landscape of your soul.  I’ve discovered recently that writing and creative thinking feels like salve to my soul.  When I go a few days without writing, I feel dry and empty.  So for me, setting aside time for soul care as it pertains to writing looks like me getting up super early around 5 am to read and write or setting aside a night a week to write after my littles have gone to bed.

So tell me, what is it that fills up your soul and makes it grander than the sea and sky?  Make a list of those things.  Start small by incorporating just one of those things a week and go from there.  Time spent on our soul is time that is never wasted.

“It is no use for you to attempt to sow out of an empty basket, for that would be sowing nothing but wind.” -Spurgeon

#write31days #5MFW

31 Day Writing Challenge

One thought on “Sky

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

