Are you AWARE?

Are you aware that human trafficking is the fastest growing crime?

Are you aware that there are more slaves in the world today than at any other point in human history, with an estimated 27 million in bondage across the globe? Men, women, and children are being exploited for manual and sexual labor against their will.

Are you aware it’s estimated that every 30 seconds, someone becomes a victim of human trafficking?

Are you aware that only 1-2% of victims are ever rescued?

Are you aware that the average age of a trafficking victim is 12 years old?

If these statistics taken from The A21 Campaign don’t make you sick to your stomach and make you want to take action, then you need to check your pulse.  God has been opening my eyes to the injustices around the world over the past few years, but this one specific one, that of human trafficking makes me sick to my stomach and mad as hell.  If you are around me for any length of time, you will hear me bring this up.  And not only that but I pray you see it in my actions as well.

I first heard of the Dressember campaign about 3 years ago.  On a whim, I thought why not and I asked the girls in my small group to join me.  They did and together we raised over $500 that year.  The task of overcoming modern day slavery seems daunting and impossible, but I tell you it’s not.  Dressember’s goal is to end modern day slavery, which includes human trafficking, by wearing a dress.  You as an individual commit to wearing a dress for 31 days during the month of December.  You are the voice for the voiceless bringing awareness to those around you for those who are hidden in secret and chained to the bonds of slavery.  You also help raise funds that go towards partners such as IJM and A21, both organizations committed to the rescue, restoration and redemption of those caught in slavery.

Lean in close, I want you to hear me and hear my heart on this…when I look into in the faces of my two little girls ages 3 and 1, I think of all the millions of girls out there who by no choice of their own have been thrust into the evil of human trafficking.  And I think what if my situation was different, what if I were the mama to one of those girls living in that nightmare but I had no funds or no one in my corner to fight with me and for me to get my girl back.  This is not just some hypothetical thought, this is real life for so many mamas of so many girls caught in the grips of human trafficking.  This thought wakes me up and makes me realize deep down in my bones that I cannot remain idle on this.

So yea, wearing a dress seems simple and maybe even silly to some, but let me tell you something, it is changing the world.  One dress, one life at a time.  I beg you, please consider joining me in this mission to end modern slavery.  If you can’t wear a dress for 31 days during Dressember but you want to help, please consider supporting my team through financial resources.

“When the church isn’t for the suffering and broken, then the church isn’t for Christ.  Because Jesus, with His pierced side, is always on the side of the broken.  Jesus always moves into places moved with grief.  Jesus always seeks out where the suffering is, and that’s where Jesus stays.  The wound in His side proves that Jesus is always on the side of the suffering, the wounded, the busted, the broken.” -Ann Voskamp, The Broken Way

31 Day Writing Challenge

3 thoughts on “Are you AWARE?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

