Who is in your margin?

I am coming off a high, a spiritual high that is, so bear with me.  I just spent the weekend with over 100 women sitting under the teaching of some of the wisest women I know and worshipping alongside some dear, sweet friends.  This past weekend my church hosted IF: Gathering a few weeks after the live event and it was amazing.  Not only were the speakers powerful as always, but the beautiful live worship, the yummy food that was prepared for us all weekend, and all the little details that went into making this weekend so special.  THANK YOU to all of those who poured and gave to make this possible!

Going into this weekend, I’ll be honest, I wasn’t as excited as I had been the year prior and I’m not sure why.  But the central theme for IF this year was something that I needed to hear and something that God had already been stirring in my heart.  I feel sure that it will take days and maybe even weeks for me to fully digest and unpack everything that I heard, learned and all that God revealed to me this past weekend.  I may be doing a lot of unpacking here on my blog, but I want to start with this question first…”Who is in your margin?”

In the few weeks leading up to IF, God had been giving me glimpses and revealing to me in different ways how He has used me over the years.  Some 8 years ago, I stepped into a high school youth ministry and into the lives of these dear, sweet girls who were freshman and sophomores in high school.  I had no idea what I was doing.  I felt ill-equipped and under qualified.  Even though I had quite a few years on these girls, they were intimidating to me and knew way more than I ever did at their age.  They called me “mama” and I swore that they would give me grey hairs before I ever had any kids of my own.  Over the last 8 years, I have had the privilege and honor of watching them grow and bloom into some of the most amazing women.  I love how they are using their voice to fight for the injustices in this world, how they are loving on their students and inciting a passion and desire in them to learn, how they are now wanting to lead small groups of their own and I could gush on and on about my girls.  Some 8 years ago, walking into this high school girls small group, I had no idea how much it would change me forever.

A few weeks back, I remember sitting in my blue chair (where a lot of thinking, reading, and praying takes place) and as I was scrolling through Facebook and seeing my girls’ faces pop up and the things they were posting, my heart was beaming with pride for them as tears streamed down my face.  I felt like God was giving me a small glimpse of the ways He has used scared, ill-equipped, and under qualified me over the past 8 years and specifically in the life of my girls.  Now I don’t say that to toot my own horn, but to encourage and challenge those of you who are maybe in the thick of discipling those God has placed you right in the middle of OR those of you who have felt this tug to take a leap and free fall into discipling others.  I know what it’s like to feel as though you are talking to a brick wall and like you aren’t making any progress.  But can I tell you that there is nothing more rewarding than to know that in some small form or fashion you have made an impact in the life of someone else.

One of the speakers this past weekend talked about discipleship and she talked about the relationship between Peter and Cornelius.  Because of Peter, Cornelius put his faith in God.  Then she shared Hebrews 13:7, “Remember your leaders, who spoke the word of God to you. Consider the outcome of their way of life and imitate their faith.”  She shared about how she had written the names of those who had discipled her in the margin of her bible next to this verse.  How because of these people she knew and loved Jesus more.  Then she asked us two powerful questions.  1- Who do you have written in the margin of your bible beside that verse?  2- Who will have your name written in the margin of their bible next to that verse someday?  At the end of the entire weekend, people were given a chance to go on stage and share who had impacted their life in such a way that because of them they knew and loved Jesus more.  Y’all, there wasn’t a dry eye in the room.  It was so powerful!

So now, it’s my turn to ask you those same two questions…who do you have written in the margin beside that verse? and who will have your name written?

Leave a Reply

