3 Things I’m loving and what I’m reading…

This is my second “3 Things I’m loving and what I’m reading” blog post but I can’t take credit for the idea.  My favorite podcast, The Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey, always asks her guests these two questions and it’s one of my favorite parts of the entire segment.  If you have never heard of Jamie Ivey, you should head on over here AND subscribe to her podcast 🙂

Ok, let’s get down to business…3 Things I’m loving:

1.) Smallwood Home:

18268527_857863193976_5356261802507016508_n

My favorite show EVER is Parenthood.  Chances are if you haven’t binge watched this show on Netflix, you have at least heard of it.  It’s the greatest show ever in the history of shows.  At one time the theme song for the show was “Forever Young” by Bob Dylan.  I wanted, no I NEEDED, those lyrics in my house in some form or fashion.  I recently came across Smallwood Home and this BEAUTIFUL piece with the “Forever Young” lyrics caught my eye.  I HAD TO HAVE IT!!!  It just so happened that they were having a HUGE sale, so I snagged this beauty at more than 50% off and since it was my first purchase with them, I was able to get 10% off as well.  This piece ended up only being $50 including shipping.  Ya’ll, WHAT A STEAL!  It’s so lovely and absolutely the perfect piece to complete my dining room.  I can guarantee you that this will not be my last time purchasing from them.  Check them out!

2.  Jane:

I have known about this site for a while but recently I downloaded the Jane app and YA’LL….BAD, BAD IDEA (but in such a good way).  It’s basically an online boutique marketplace.  I don’t understand fully how it works, but I love that I can browse the latest fashions without ever leaving the comfort of my home (which there in lies the danger!).  I have purchased clothes for myself, for my girls, gifts for others, and home goods.  It’s pretty awesome!

3.  Vinegar and all its many uses

Ok, so I have long loved vinegar and all its many uses.  From getting the sour smell out of towels, to cleaning floors and etc.  However, this new use that I just discovered, TOPS THEM ALL!  Our house is a Charleston style home-built in 1986.  The previous owners completely renovated the entire house with the exception of one room, the master bathroom.  If I had a few thousands dollars just sitting around, I would renovate that bathroom in a heartbeat, but I don’t because #adulting and LIFE and BILLS.  The countertops are an 80s blush color and the tub/shower is so gross…I JUST CAN’T EVEN.  I have yet to find something that cleans it and gets all the soap scum off.  My mom told me about this vinegar/dawn combo I should try.  I was a little skeptical because like I said, nothing has been able to clean that nasty thing.  I tried it today for the first time and I was AMAZED!  Vinegar, I have all the heart eyes for you!  So here it is…microwave 1/2 cup of vinegar for 90 secs and then pour into a squirt bottle.  Add 1/2 cup of dawn liquid detergent and gently shake.  Spray shower/tub and let sit for 30 minutes then wash/wipe away.  My tub/shower hasn’t been this clean since the day we moved in!  Chances are, if you come to my house within the next 24-48 hours, I am going to make you go look at my shower 🙂

4. Magnolia Trees

Ok, so I lied…4 things, but it’s my blog and I can do what I want, right?!  We have a Magnolia tree in our front yard and it’s blossoms are starting to bloom.  Last year it had a rough year and we didn’t see too many blossoms.  Not only do magnolia trees smell amazing but in my opinion they are the epitome of all things southern and they remind me of my Memaw. Growing up, she had a beautiful magnolia tree in what I liked to pretend was my very own secret garden.  I had visions of getting married in that garden someday under the magnolia tree, BUT when you get married in the dead of winter (February), outdoor wedding ideas fly out the window.  Here’s a picture of our beauty…

FullSizeRender 4

What I am reading:

FullSizeRender 5

Currently, I am reading Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist, Leap Over A Wall by Eugene Peterson and You are Free By Rebekah Lyons (not pictured because it’s on kindle) with the other two next up.  I am not going to go into lengthy detail about any of these books because I plan to save that for my 2017 Book Review Round-up part 2, BUT I can say that I am now a HUGE Eugene Peterson fan and Shauna Niequest has my heart.  Can’t wait to share my thoughts with you on these books soon!

Leave a Reply

