2017 Book Review Roundup Pt. 2

Image-1

I picked some really good books this last round and I can’t wait to share them with you!  But before I dive in, have you heard of Good Reads?  I still haven’t had a chance to really learn all the ins and outs of it, but it’s a really neat site especially for us book worms.  It’s like an online library where you have different “shelves” for the books you are currently reading, books you want to read and even books you have read.  You can even find friends on there and view their different “shelves.”  I’m loving it! OK, let’s get started…

  1. Love Warrior By Glennon Doyle Melton

The first book that I read by Melton was Carry On Warrior and I LOVED IT!  She was refreshing, raw, and honest.  In her second book Love Warrior, a memoir of marriage and self-discovery, she wrote with the same rawness and honesty, but this was a hard book for me personally to read.  It was very dark and heavy.  It wasn’t necessarily that I dreaded reading it, but after I would read a chapter, I would walk away with this cloud over my head.  As an avid reader, I know that when reading a book, you don’t have to agree with everything an author says and take it as total truth for yourself.  It’s your responsibility to weed out the bad and digest what was good.  From her first book to this last one, Melton has made some MAJOR life changes.  If you follow her on social media, then you know what I mean.  This book helped me better understand why she has made some of the choices and recent life changes that she has.  What I like about her most and can appreciate, is the fact that she is all about being real and not just keeping up a “curb appeal.”  One of my favorite take aways from this book…”We can choose to be perfect and admired or to be real and loved.”

2. 40 Days of Decrease By Alicia Britt Chloe

This was a Lenten read that came recommended by several people and it was actually an iBook purchase for under $3.  I had never heard of this author before and so I was a little leery of what it would be like but it was soooooo good!!!  I HIGHLY recommend this book for you to read through next Lenten season.  My favorite quote from the book…”God seems more interested in what we are becoming than in what we are giving up.”

3.  Wild in the Hollow by Amber Haines

I came across Haines’ blog a while ago and would catch up on it from time to time.  I gathered from bits and pieces of her blog entries, that she had quite a past, and this book is her story of going from brokenness to wholeness.  She writes a lot like Ann Voskamp, which if I remember correctly, Ann wrote the foreword for her book (I let a friend borrow my copy and I can’t remember 100% if that’s correct).  Chances are, if you are a friend of Voskamp’s then I am going to like you.  She writes a lot like Voskamp using poetic and flowery words, which I enjoy.  I liked this book and would recommend it to someone who is seeking healing and wholeness from their past.

4.  Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist

Disclaimer:  I found this book while in Nashville shopping at a Goodwill for 99 cents and snagged it up.  I am so glad I did, because I am now a big Niequist fan!  I purchased her devotional book Savor a few years ago, but could never get into it.  I plan on picking it back up now, after having read Bread and Wine.  The whole book is composed of short chapters centered around her favorite recipes that are tied to her favorite memories, life lessons, community, etc.  She loves sharing a meal around a table with those she loves, which is one of my love languages.  I get energy from being with “my people.”  She writes about the community her and her husband once had but due to job changes, marriage and other circumstances, they are now all miles apart.  I have lived this and struggled through this as well.  She brought words to what I was feeling and helped me with moving forward.  “We knew when we moved away that something like this wouldn’t necessarily happen again.  It was a moment in time, a gift, an event that we happened to be a part of just for that season…”

5.  Leap Over a Wall by Eugene Peterson

This is another Goodwill book find and let me tell ya, it’s a GOOD ONE!  I’ve heard of Eugene Peterson, he wrote The Message version of the bible, but I have never read any of his books.  OH MY WORD, I loved this book.  I now want to read every book he’s ever written.  This book is about one of the most controversial figures in the Bible: King David.  I am not going to give anything away, just that you should go read it!  And if you have any recommendations for what book of his I should read next, please share!

6.  You Are Free: Be Who You Already Are by Rebekah Lyons

This is my first Lyons book and I really enjoyed it.  I actually got this as a kindle special for $1.99.  I first heard about Lyons from IF: Gathering.  She was one of the speakers and since then I have followed her on Instagram. I’m a wee bit jealous of the fact that she lives in Franklin, TN which in my opinion is one of the cutest, most quaint towns.  What I love most about her, is that she is living out her dreams and passions.  Her and her husband Gabe are a dynamic duo and I love what they are doing over at Q Ideas.  I felt like I could relate a lot to her in this book, not so much about the anxiety (she is very open about her struggle with anxiety) part, but just all the challenges, emotions and struggles with listening to God and going where He leads you.  Now, I know I have never met her and we are far from first name basis, but I felt a kindred connection with her through her writing.  It’s a good read and I definitely would recommend it!

There ya go friends!  If you want to check out 2017 Book Review Round up Part 1, here ya go!

One thought on “2017 Book Review Roundup Pt. 2

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

