3 Things I am loving and what I am reading

These are my favorite blog posts to write and in a perfect world, I would have one for you on the regular each month, however, LIFE.  Coincidently, it’s been exactly a month since I wrote my last “3 Things I am loving and What I am reading.” I am on a ROLL people, so I am giving myself a pat on the back right now.  Woohoo, go me! We are leaving for the beach this afternoon, but I wanted to share these goodies with y’all before we go!  So here goes…

  1.  Big Imagination Design

Chances are, if you have seen me around, you have seen me wearing either some big feather earrings or my favorite lightweight suede earrings.  I am not much of a jewelry girl, but I do love earrings that make a BOLD statement.  My girl, Jen (Hatmaker that is), introduced me to these feather earrings by Big Imagination Design and I WANT…no, NEED all of them!  I haven’t yet purchased a pair because I am having a hard time deciding… I need some help!  Shameless plug, my birthday is in less than 3 months, and if anyone is looking for a good birthday gift idea for me…here ya go! just kidding. not really though…

2.  Mary Kay Lash Intensity Mascara

IMG_6132

My girl, Emma recently started selling Mary Kay and sent me some samples.  One of the samples was this Lash Intensity Mascara, which I am now OBSESSED with.  It’s amazing!!  Sorry for the weird, nostril-ly view of my face, but there is no easy way to take a picture of your eyelashes without getting a shot of your nose 🙂  I have already put in an order for another tube of this mascara and can’t wait for it to arrive.  Also, if you click on Emma’s name above, you will get to meet my friend.  She is one of the most genuine, loving, strong, and hard-working woman I know, not to mention absolutely GORGEOUS.  To know her, is to love her!

3.  Summer Schedule

Last year, I came up with a silly little summer schedule of sorts, although I am sure I can’t take credit for it because it’s likely that I found it on Pinterest somewhere.  Each day has a theme of sorts which keeps things fun and exciting for the kids and helps keep me sane…can I get an Amen!  I have had several people ask me for it, so I thought I would share.

Move It Mondays, Quiet Time Tuesdays, Water Wednesdays, Thirsty Thursdays and/or Tasty Treats Thursday, and Family Fun Fridays.  Of course not every week goes as planned and to be honest, we have yet to complete a week so far this summer where we have gone by our themes each day.  You can make this what you want for you and your kids.  Here are some things we do:  Move It Mondays include the park, take our bikes to the church parking lot, indoor playground at the mall, indoor playground at Chickfila, play outside ALL DAY, etc.  Quiet Time Tuesdays include the library, a movie, or I’ll let my two older kids skip quiet time and play board games with me while the littlest naps.  Water Wednesday, well that’s pretty much self-explanatory but my kids love the pool, the splash pad, water balloons, etc.  Thirsty Thursdays/Tasty Treat Thursdays, whichever you prefer or BOTH on the same day.  This includes Pelican’s Snowball, Sonic Happy Hour, ice cream, popsicle, etc.  I also like to let them pick out some sort of treat that they can help me make, like cookies or banana bread.  My kids love to help me cook!  Family Fun Fridays…Fridays are my husband’s day off and we like to make those days adventure days whether its do something around our city or a day trip somewhere.  I’d love to hear some feedback on what you do to keep your kids busy during the summer months!

What I am READING:FullSizeRender 6

Two of these books are repeats from last month, because I am still reading them…Forward by Nick Cunningham and Wearing God by Lauren F. Winner.  Savor is more of a devotional and I’ve had it for a while but after reading Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist last month and really loving it, I wanted to pick this devotional back up and give it another go!  Giddy Up, Eunice by Sophie Hudson is just the best.  This is my second time reading it and this time I am reading it in preparation for a book club I am co-leading this summer at my church.  I am super excited about this and can’t wait to see how this book is going to usher us into a rich Fall, expectant and hopeful for all the cross-generational relationships that will form.

Signing off now and going to enjoy some beach time with my family. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

